Diabetes Support Groups

Diabetes Support Group

2017-2018 Schedule

Locations

Oshawa Support Group - Evening Sessions run from 7-9 p.m.
Upstairs at the Real Canadian Superstore, 481 Gibb Street, Oshawa (meets 1st Tuesday of each month) 

Clarington Daytime Support Group (Bowmanville) - Day time Sessions run from 1:30-3:30 p.m.
Bowmanville Older Adult Association, 26 Beech Avenue, Bowmanville (the Parlour Room) (meets the 2nd Thursday of each month)

Clarington Evening Support Group (Bowmanville) - Evening Sessions run from 7-9 p.m.
Clarington Central Secondary School, 200 Clarington Blvd, Bowmanville - Room #165 (meets 3rd Wednesday of each month - 2 exceptions noted*

 

September - Meal Planning

Tips for building healthier meals and snacks.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, September 14, 2017     

Oshawa

 Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, September 20, 2017

October - Keeping an EYE on Your Health

Our community optometrist guest speakers will provide a presentation to help you understand how diabetes can affect the health of your eyes and what you can do to help keep your eyes healthy.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

Thursday, October 12, 2017     

Oshawa

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Bowmanville Evening

*Thursday, October 19, 2017

November - ABCs of Diabetes Management

Discussing self-management of diabetes, problem solving and prevention of complications.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, November 9, 2017     

Oshawa

 Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, November 15, 2017

December - Diabetes BINGO

Come and enjoy a fun and informative evening while we play a game of BINGO through an interactive diabetes management program.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, December 14, 2017

Oshawa

 Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, December 20, 2017

January: Pulses: A New Super Food? A diabetes Canada Webinar Series

An online webinar hosted by Diabetes Canada.  Join us as certified diabetes educator Sarah Blunden talks about how a diet rich in pulses can help you better manage your diabetes.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, January 11, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 *Thursday, January 18, 2018

February: Exercise Tips with Toni

Being physically active is important to managing your diabetes.  Toni Johnson will return to teach us how we can stay active every day and advise on the benefits of physical activity.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, February 8, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, February 21, 2018

March: Nutrition Myths, Separating Fact from Fiction

Are you confused by nutrition claims? For nutrition month (March) we will talk about some popular nutrition myths and give you some tips to help separate fact from fiction.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, March 8, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, March 21, 2018

April: Making Complications not so Complicated

Complications: facts, myths and how to reduce the risk of developing some of the more common complications associated with diabetes.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, April 12, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, April 18, 2018

May: Foot Care Conversation Map

Our session will cover how to take care of and what to look for when examining your feet to prevent problems and what the risks are with diabetes. Please note that foot examinations and/or foot care are not part of this session.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, May 10, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, May 16, 2018

June: Mediterranean Diet

Have you heard lots of good things about the Mediterranean diet? Learn what all the hype is about.  Learn the benefits of this lifestyle and how to eat the Mediterranean way.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, June 14, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, June 5 2018

Bowmanville Evening

 Wednesday, June 20, 2018

*Note: date changed to Thursday due to conflict with school schedule

For more information contact:

Diabetes Program, Lakeridge Health

Lynda Dus

905-576-8711 x3158

email: ldus@lakeridgehealth.on.ca