Diabetes Support Groups

Diabetes Support Group

2018-2019 Schedule

Locations

Oshawa Support Group - Evening Sessions run from 7:00-9:00 p.m.
Upstairs at the Real Canadian Superstore, 481 Gibb Street, Oshawa (meets 1st Tuesday of each month,*1 exception) 

Daytime Support Group (Bowmanville) - Day time Sessions run from 1:30-3:30 p.m.
Bowmanville Older Adult Association, 26 Beech Avenue, Bowmanville (the Parlour Room) (meets the 2nd Thursday of each month)

Real Canadian Superstore - Evening Support Group (Whitby) - Evening Sessions run from 7:00-9:00 p.m.
upstairs, 200 Taunton Rd W, Whitby (west of Brock) (meets 3rd Tuesday of each month) 

Real Canadian Supertore - Evening Support Group (Ajax) - Evening Sessions run from 7:00-9:00 p.m.  upstairs, 20 Kingston Rd. W (west of Harwood) Ajax (4th Wednesday of each month)

 

September - Meal Planning 101

What's for dinner? Meal planning is the foundation of a healthy diet. Join us for a session to learn some tips and tricks on shopping, cooking and enjoying your meals.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

Thursday, September 13, 2018     

Oshawa

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Whitby

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Ajax

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

October - Moving Mindfully Webinar

Fitness is about focussing on being healthy enough to make memories. Come to this session to learn about the four pillars of health: hydration, nutrition, sleep and exercise and how to incorporate them in your life.  Start small habits now to make tomorrow better.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

Thursday, October 11, 2018     

Oshawa

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Whitby

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Ajax

 Wednesday, October 24, 2018

November - Minding Your Medications

Looking for more support on managing your medications well?  Our guest speaker community pharmacist will talk about your medications related to diabetes.  They will also talk about the benefits of getting your annual flu shot.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, November 8, 2018     

Oshawa

 Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Whitby

 Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Ajax

 Wednesday, November 28, 2018

December - Curb Your Cravings

Do you ever struggle to maintain healthy eating habits? Eat for comfort? Or in response to strong feelings?  We will talk about strategies to help you feel more in control of your eating and to curb your cravings.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, December 13, 2018

Oshawa

 Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Whitby

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Ajax

 No meeting this month

January - Mental Health & Stress

In this session we will discuss ways to manage stress which may help people cope with diabetes as well as learn what resources are available in Durham Region.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, January 10, 2019

Oshawa

*Tuesday, January 8, 2019*

Whitby

 Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Ajax

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 

February: Loving Your Heart by Eating Well

Eating the right foods can help to protect your heart.  Learn the latest on what dietary strategies can reduce your risk of heart disease.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, February 14, 2019

Oshawa

 Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Whitby

 Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Ajax

 Wednesday, February 27, 2019

March - Diabetes on Date Night

Diabetes should not prevent you from having a nice meal away from home.  A break from cooking can help boost your mood but does not have to boost your blood sugars. Come to this session to learn strategies on how to manage your diabetes on date night.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, March 14, 2019

Oshawa

 Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Whitby

 Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Ajax

 Wednesday, March 27, 2019

April - Taking Steps Towards Foot Care

Foot problems are very common in people who live with diabetes and can lead to serious complications.  Our Chiropodist guest speaker will help guide you through the principles of diabetes foot care for your diabetes management.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, April 11, 2019

Oshawa

 Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Whitby

 Wednesday, April 16, 2019

Ajax

 Wednesday, April 24, 2019

May - Keeping an EYE on Your Eye Health

Our community Optometrist guest speaker will provide a presentation to help you understand how diabetes can affect the health of your eyes and what you can do to help keep your eyes healthy.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, May 9, 2019

Oshawa

 Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Whitby

 Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Ajax

 Wednesday, May 22, 2019

June - What's New in Diabetes: Technology, Apps. & New Items

Learn about the newest advancements in technology that can help facilitate the management of diabetes. We will discuss phone applications, blood glucose monitoring devices and other useful tools that have recently emerged on the market.

Place  

 Date

Bowmanville Daytime 

 Thursday, June 13, 2019

Oshawa

 Tuesday, June 4, 2019

Whitby

 Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Ajax

 Wednesday, June 26, 2018

For more information contact:

Diabetes Program, Lakeridge Health

Lynda Dus

905-576-8711 x3158

email: ldus@lakeridgehealth.on.ca